Blog

2024.08.18 - Motivation

Updated the discography page, now you can click on the titles of the releases to show links to where you can stream them. Not entirely satisfied with it yet.

Been struggling a bit with staying motivated, not only with this site but in general. The usual "what am I doing this for?" thoughts are creeping in. I was never good with "networking" and I am hoping somehow people will start noticing my work. But I know it will get better, just have to keep going. I have an almost finished EP and album and they are really solid. Just have to push myself to finish them. Got a commission the other day and that helped. Feels different when you do something for someone else rather than just for yourself. Maybe that's what I need, to work on something else for a bit. Get a break from all the big and complicated projects and do something simple.

Sleeping pattern is really messed up at the moment, I am trying to fix it because it's hard to get things done when you get up and the day is almost over already. I want to visit a place tomorrow that got recommended to me and I'll either go very early, with no/very little sleep or a bit later with at least some sleep.

2024.08.11 - Visiting the Dead

Only very minor website update today because I was busy with other things. I removed the about section because right now I am not using it. I'm not sure if I should put some things about myself or my projects on there, I don't think it's really needed.

Visited a graveyard today, as I often do. On some days I just don't feel inspired but today was good. Trying to do more than just pictures of pretty flowers and sculptures, to have some variety.

2024.08.10 - Feeling Bad

Not doing great today. Was planning on going outside to take photos but decided against it. But I still worked on this website.
The titles on the discography page are now Spotify links. I had the idea of having a little menu open when you click them, where you can select between Spotify, Youtube Music and other streaming sites but I have to do this later, when I learned more about making websites.

Also added the first version of a gallery for my photography. Very simple right now but it works.
Don't feel like writing any more so this will have to do.

2024.08.09 - Keeping Busy

Made progress on the discography page, now shows the album art in a grid. It's WIP, as is everything else on this site. I want the grid to eventually adjust itself not only in size but also in layout according to screen dimensions but this will have to come later as I learn more about HTML and CSS.
I want to add a page for my photography but I am not sure yet how it should look like. Having thumbnails and getting the big version as you click on them would probably be the best but maybe I go the easy route first and just do a long scrollable page with them displayed as big as possible, with a small margin both horizontal and vertical.

Also worked on the lyrics for "Misery", as they were a bit too short. I added some things and they are now roughly twice as long. Felt good to write down some of the negative thoughts I had. Last song is probably one of the most depressing things I've ever written. But I am inexperienced as a lyricist so I won't release them. I also worked on the kick and bass sound, sounds fuller now. All the music and mixing was originally done in 2020 so it's interesting how much better at understanding how to improve a mix I have become. Hearing muddy/annoying frequencies and setting levels right feels much easier than back then, it's way less guesswork now.

This is all for now, I need to work out and shower and decide where I want to go tomorrow, to take photos.

2024.08.08 - Sleep is for the Weak

Added collapsable entries to the blog. I'm tired but I don't want to sleep. Sometimes I feel like I am not allowed to go to sleep yet because I haven't accomplished enough. I wanted to work out today (I did yesterday). But I worked on the mix of "Misery" a bit. Guitars are now less muddy, makes a big difference. And I keep working on this site. So maybe I did enough for 1 day after all. But still, I could do so much more if I wasn't so lazy.

2024.08.07 - 1st Entry

Started working on making a website for my art the other day. No idea yet if this will become more that me playing around with HTML and CSS. I do tend to work on too many things at the same time. But I enjoy visual design so it could be fun coming up with something, right now it's just meant as a place to have all my socials linked and later display album art and maybe some of my photography. Also just might use this as a diary.

Something actually related to my music:
"We Deserve Misery" has been basically complete since 2020 but the drums could use some fills (I hate doing them). I have lyrics for all 3 tracks but I don't know if I'll keep them or write new ones. After that I have to actually record them, which I am not looking forward to. But I want to put out a proper release of my BM music, not just instrumental pieces. After that's done (ideally I'll focus on "Misery", but I'll probably work on both releases at the same time) I'll re-record guitar tracks for "Thorns". Has no lyrics yet and only one song has a title that dictates the theme. It will be a pretty personal record about recent experiences so I most likely won't share the actual lyrics online. Hopefully no one can actually understand what I am singing/screaming.

That's all for now, 1st blog entry done. I need to code a proper blog, where you get a little preview of the entries and then you can click on one to read it. I wonder if anyone will even read these but anyway, end of first entry.